Mandrake Infused Oil

Last Autumn I unearthed my mandrake plant, Merlin. Removed from it’s soft soily bed, the light of day revealed a beautiful human like tap root, along with plenty of strands of fibrous roots. Now I’m finally getting round to making some magic with them!

150429719840014

I decided to infuse the roots in sweet almond oil using the warmth of the sun. I filled a clip top jar with mandrake roots and topped it up with oil. It seemed to create a magical tiny forest, I peered through the glass and felt like a little fish at the bottom of some murky enchanted lake!

oil infusing

I then decanted the oil into 10ml roll on perfume bottles which I have for sale in my Shoppe. The oil can be used for a number of magical practices, to attract luck, prosperity and enhance your magical undertakings. Use to anoint charm bags, altar tools and yourself, but caution is advised, mandrake is toxic and should be used sparingly!

102_5247.

Magical Uses

The mandrake can be used in similar ways to how our medieval ancestors would have used them, such as a charm for the home to bring prosperity and happiness. A mandrake root with it’s likeness to a person can be used as a poppet. Mandrake infused oil can be used as a powerful potion to aid your spells, increase your power, and to attract luck. The mandrake is an important plant for lunar rituals and can be used when making moon water. Because of it’s history as an aphrodisiac, the mandrake can also be used in sex magic. The mandrake is connected with the energies of Earth and Mercury.

The mandrake is definitely one of my favourite plants associated with witchcraft, and I’m trying to grow a few more again this year, they are notoriously difficult to germinate though!

This entry was posted in Witchcraft, Ye Olde Shoppe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment